Could Schools Go Virtual Forever After COVID-19?

Aaryan Harshith
8 min readApr 27, 2020

I still quite clearly remember what I thought in late January of 2019 when I scrolled through an article on COVID-19:

“Hmmm…A virus”

I then moved on with my day as usual.

Looking back, it’s honestly pretty shocking to see how that virus didn’t only spread amongst people, but has basically spread into every aspect of society as we knew it. That includes many people’s least favourite aspect — school.

If you think of change, the school system is probably the last thing on your mind, but could COVID-19 have changed how we see the education process forever? It’s an interesting thought, but is there logic to back what’s being said here? Here’s my take on it ( along with some more reputable sources):

Virtual What?

I’m a student.

School can be hard enough without Zoom, Hangouts, Classroom, or any other video-conferencing app. Add another layer of complexity that is the internet, and you can be sure that my initial reaction was far from positive.

--

--